Anime Monday: Legend of Korra Premiere & Cowboy Bebop

Hey geeks! First of all, long time no blogging. Like I said in previous posts, senior year is a–well, you get it. Second, LEGEND OF KORRA. Seriously, Avatar: The Last Airbender fans, did you see it?

For those not in the know (and if you haven’t watched ATLA or Korra yet, first, here are the basics and be sure to hit up Netflix when you’re done reading to start your newest television addiction), Avatar: Legend of Korra is the upcoming follow-up series to Nickelodeon’s popular kid series Avatar: The Last Airbender, which ran from 2005 to 2008.

While the release date for Korra was in limbo for a while, ATLA fans rejoiced when it was announced that Korra would air April 14th. World-wide-web pandemonium? Sort of–until after a slew of leaks of the first two episodes Nick decided to release them online themselves! …now we’re talking web traffic. 

If you didn’t get a chance to view the first two episodes of KorraNation.com (the best resource I’ve found online for all things ATLA-related), you’ll have to wait until mid-April (without cheating, anyway). The episodes were sadly only viewable this weekend.

If you DID get to see the premiere of Korra, what did you think, geeks? So far, I’m in love. Korra as a character is bright, tenacious (to put it mildly), but not lacking depth in that apart from being another badass female character of the Avatarverse, she has her own set of weaknesses to deal with. In addition, the side characters seem to be just as colorful, wonderful, and three-dimensional as they were in ATLA, and potentially great companions for the young new Avatar.

It was a bit sad to know that all of the ATLA minus Katara had passed, especially Sokka (my boyfriend pointed out that he would be even more hilarious as a crotchety old warrior and I agree), but how much did you guys suppress shouts when Katara was introduced? I had to remind myself that I was an adult there for a second. Same thing happened when we met Lin Bei Fong, Toph’s (another fave) daughter.

Also, officially calling it right now–though I know I’ve mentioned it in passing on Tumblr and Facebook–Korra and Mako are gonna get together. I’ve got a strong inkling that Bryan and Mike are trying to win over Zutara fans with the opposites-attract/firebender-waterbender relationship Zutarians have been dying for, and as a self-proclaimed Zutara fan I’m all for it (especially since it’s now pretty clear that Korra is not Katara and Zuko’s love child).

Finally, how scary are the Equalists? I know that we didn’t get much of them other than Korra’s interaction with the anti-bender rally and then a quick introduction to their leader, Amon, but the masks alone inspire the same sort of cold, trickling fear that the faceless Death Eaters owned in Harry Potter.

Speaking of Amon (and I promise I’m almost done with this long-winded post), guess who he’s voiced by? Steve Blum, aka Spike from my latest favorite anime series, Cowboy Bebop. I’d heard about the critically-acclaimed anime series for years (thanks, fanfiction) but never seen it. One word: breathtaking. The illustration, the MUSIC, the characters, the story–all fantastic. Can’t believe it took me so long to see it. If you haven’t seen it, or if ATLA is the first thing resembling anime aside from Miyazaki you’ve seen, check it out.

Whether you be a fangirl, anime addict, or just a good ol’ geek like me, look out for upcoming posts about Doctor Who (series 7 is on its way!), The Hunger Games &/or/vs. Battle Royale, and an up-and-coming tabletop/board game company I know intimately (I may or may not be dating one of the co-founders and building their website), Three Fates Games. Till then!

May the geek be with you,

Lindsay

P.S. Check out an awesome review of the Korra premiere here.

P.S.S. If you did miss Korra, hopefully this will tide you over until then (courtesy of syaoran.net):

About thegeekswereright

come get your geek on.
This entry was posted in Comics/Art, News, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Anime Monday: Legend of Korra Premiere & Cowboy Bebop

  1. hpbooklover4ever says:

    LOVE LoK. It is just so unbelievably epically awesome. I cannot wait to hear more of the backstory around Mako (you totally know it is gonna be angsty with all the brooding and deep intense staring *fangirl squeal* [I don’t care if I lost any respect just now]).

    Also Linds- if you want any EPIC anime suggestions you always have my number. I am VP of anime club after all and you know my geek cred is pretty darn good ;D

    But you know, now that we have watched the first few episodes early we have to wait SO DAMN LONG for the next episode….. GAH #firstworldgeekproblems

    • Totally agree with you about Mako. Yes, my love for him thus far is mostly due to my love of angsty Zuko, but I have no doubt that I’ll come to love him for his own character soon enough. I already love Bolin!

      So true about the wait. But worth it…
      Thanks for your comment!

      Lindsay

  2. Odd Omission says:

    Oh my goodness. I remember back in the summer when I watched the school Avatar series in like, two weeks. The show was so badass! I felt like the whole concept of it was just amazing. This newer one seems cool too, I’m looking forward to watching it. Perhaps I’ll allow my brain to turn to mush for 30 minutes again (haven’t watched TV in forever). I can’t believe that I missed the premier! I’m so out of the loop…

    • Couldn’t agree with you more! Definitely check out the premiere April 14th–hopefully they continue to post the full episodes on Nick.com, because I’m not sure how much longer I’ll have cable.
      Thanks for your comment!

      Lindsay

      • Odd Omission says:

        I’ve just realized that I’ve missed every episode of Korra so far. Oh my goodness, I need to find out what channel it’s on and what time it shows…Oh me and my “busy” life.

  3. cupcake2eater says:

    I love Legend of Korra! So does my best friend and we rage about thing in the episodes every time a new one comes out. Right now we’re still swearing insults at Hiroshi and Amon for being bastards.

Leave a Reply

