Need a Gaang Fix? Bending is Back for Avatar: The Last Airbender.

Hey geeks! Long time no blogging. I hate excuses but in this case, life really did get in the way—sad and unfortunate, somewhat infuriating, even, but true.

Anyway, I promised you lot a post sometime featuring either news about The Legend of Korra or Game of Thrones. Turns out it’s going to be the latter.

The good news: that Avatar continuation comic I mentioned a while back? Well, it’s out and ready for purchase. Just added it to my cart–I can’t wait to read The Lost Adventures! Some even better news is that Dark Horse Comics has announced another comic—and this one is going to narrate the period between the 100-Year War (aka. the Gaang’s story) and the coming of Korra. The comic will be in two parts, written by award-winning graphic novelist Gene Luen Yang, and be titled “The Promise” (cover art embedded for your fan-tastic pleasure).

Now onto the bad news. (Insert long, dramatic sigh). While there has been only speculation up to this point, The Legend of Korra may be postponed until 2013. I know what you’re thinking—or rather, mumbling incoherently in vast disappointment—what??

Well, don’t mar your pretty foreheads with worry lines just yet. Nothing’s official, despite Tumblr blowing up with rumors. If Korra is going to be postponed, then it’s going to be postponed. It’s been nearly four years since ATLA ended, so waiting an extra year for the new mini-series doesn’t sound so awful. Besides, there’s always Nick reruns (or, if you have the DVDS like me, weekend marathons) and fanart/fiction to get you by. I’m more than willing to wait if it means creators Bryan and Mike will make it as awesome as ATLA (though I’m still disappointed Zutara isn’t canon)—especially since it’ll help everyone forget this

Anyway, before I depart for this week, geeks, I’ve got another question to ask you. I’ve decided to try and go for it bender-style this Halloween and be my favorite waterbender, Katara. Which do you think would be cooler/easier, Katara in her traditional Water Tribe robes (specifically from the third season with those cool wrist armor things) or Fire Nation Katara?

Leave your vote in the comments. Don’t be shy. Till next time’s geeking out over Game of Thrones

May the geek be with you,

Lindsay

P.S. I almost forgot to mention Pinterest! The Geeks Were Right has a new pinboard, viewable on the latest and greatest social media site, Pinterest.com, a virtual pinboard. Check it out here–and if you need an invite to Pinterest, request it in the comments and leave your email. I’d love to share pins with fellow geeks.

About thegeekswereright

come get your geek on.
This entry was posted in Comics/Art, News, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Need a Gaang Fix? Bending is Back for Avatar: The Last Airbender.

  1. Natasha says:

    I vote for water tribe Katara. Can’t wait to see the final result though no matter what nation you end up going with! ^_^

  2. Odd Omission says:

    Oh my goodness, I love the Avatar series. I watched it when it first debuted when I was little but it just slipped from my interest for some reason but it got revived. So I watched the whole series this summer in a span of two weeks, watching 3 episodes every morning while eating breakfast (now that I typed that out, I feel really pathetic). I can’t believe the wait until the next series! 2013 sounds way too far off! But I guess I can live with it because I won’t be like, patiently waiting on a rock for it to come back from war in some viking-esque ship or something. I hope this new series is exciting though, it seems to be from what I heard.

    Oh yeah, I vote for water tribe katara, always liked that design more.

    • Good to find another ATLA fan! I, sadly, did not watch the series when it premiered, I was a little too old to be considered part of the demographic, but I discovered it last summer and fell in love. Watching 3 episodes per morning is not sad. Coming home from work, working out, and then watching them till bedtime is a little sad–and that’s what I did, haha.
      The new series looks like it’s going to be worth the wait, so stay tuned! And another vote for Water Tribe Katara–noted.

      Thanks for your comment!
      Lindsay

  3. xxbreexx says:

    Lol when I first found out about the series like a year ago, I swear to God all I did one day was watch tv ^.^ I hope Korra is as good as ATLA!! Your costume must look really cool 🙂

    • Same here. I watched it like 3 times in one summer. And so far I think Korra very well will be!
      The costume did turn out great. I keep thinking I should post pictures on here–maybe someday!
      Thanks for your comment!

      Lindsay

  4. siehjin says:

    yo! i just watched the whole of ATLA, and loved it! i found myself telling myself “it’s so awesome!” repeatedly after almost every episode, lol.

    was googling to find out what happens next, and one of the search results was your blog. =)

  5. Pingback: Anime Monday: Legend of Korra Premiere & Cowboy Bebop | the geeks were right.

Leave a Reply

